Scottish Confession of Faith (1560)

by Anonymous


The Scottish Confession of Faith, or the “Scots Confession,” appeared during the Protestant Reformation in, of course, Scotland. Its group of six authors—all of whom happened to share the first name “John”—included John Knox, one of Calvinism’s most influential leaders. The Confession’s twenty-five chapters detail the Christian faith as understood by contemporary followers of John Calvin. The Scottish Confession remained the official Confession of the Church of Scotland until the Westminster Confession replaced it in 1648.

Kathleen O'Bannon
CCEL Staff

About Anonymous

View author page »

Picture of Anonymous
Related topics:
VIEWNAME is workInfo