Note 183
From Chapter 16 of the Decline & Fall

When Palestine was divided into three, the prafecture of the East contained forty-eight provinces. As the ancient distinctions of nations were long since abolished, the Romans distributed the provinces according to a general proportion of their extent and opulence.

« LAST » Note « NEXT »